Facebook Logo Twitter Logo
Telephone +44 (0) 1669 620109     Email  stay@thecroftrothbury.co.uk
Four Star Award Gold Award
The Croft Rothbury
View from the Croft
Guest review at The Croft Rothbury

Guest Reviews

Guest reviews taken from the visitors book February – June 2014.

Date

Guests

Review

14 - 20 Nov 2015

Di & Tony + dog
Ludlow

Absolutely at home here in this house and in Northumberland. Thank you Cathy for your generosity. We quite simply LOVE it! We shall be back.

31 Oct – 14 Nov 2015

Harry & Filzey
+ dogs.  Lincs

Thank you for a lovely stay in your cottage. We have had a wonderful time exploring Rothbury and area. Brilliant drives over the hills.

24 - 31 Oct 2015

David, Marhna and Lauren. Lancs

Lovely stay in a lovely house. Thank you for your welcome hamper which was much appreciated.
Hope to be back soon.

10 - 17 Oct 2015

Peter, Sandra & Aimee.
Netherlands

A lovely comfortable house, blue skies, thousands of stars, good food at The Granby Inn and The Jolly Fisherman (Craster). Castles, Farne Islands…….what a week! Thank you for everything.

26 Sept – 10 Oct 2015

Mike and Carol + dogs.
Devon

Yet another wonderful stay- think it's the 4th? A lovely place to stay and Cathy goes out of her way to be helpful. Weather mixed but good – from shorts and T shirts on the Pennine Way to waterproofs on the Rothbury Terraces. Walked miles. Had a nice meal at The Granby at Longframlington. Fabulous as always here- will return. Two weeks isn't long enough.

19-26 Sept 2015

Caroline & Martin, Charlotte & Keith  

Thank you for a lovely stay. What a house to holiday in and lovely countryside all around.

12 – 19 Sept 2015

Christina & David + dog
York

Thank you very much for a lovely stay in your cottage. Very relaxing with wonderful views and everything provided. We have never see Jenga (the dog) so relaxed in all the cottages we have been in. Hope to return again soon.

5 – 11 Sept 2015

Joanne & Ian
+ dogs

Wonderful cottage, well equipped with the most amazing views and very dog friendly. Location brilliant with amazing walks right from your doorstep. Had an excellent week and would love to come back.

1 – 15 August
2015

Andre & Jayne
+ dog
Berkshire

A beautiful house in a fantastic part of the country. Blessed with good weather was a bonus. Wonderful walks on the doorstep and everything your need within the town. Heartfelt thanks to Cathy who made us very welcome.

25 July – 1 Aug 2015

Karen & David
+ dogs
Essex

We have had a lovely comfortable stay. The weather has not been kind- but we have enjoyed our visit to this lovely part of the countryside. We especially enjoyed walking walking the dogs on the fantastic beaches. We also thoroughly enjoyed Wallington and Lindisfarne. We really appreciated the food at The Three Wheat Heads in nearby Thropton. Thank you for an enjoyable stay.

18 – 25 July 2015

Margaret & Brian
Leicestershire

Our first visit to Northumberland; we've had a lovely week, warm weather mixed with cool breezes, warm sunny periods with horizontal drizzle! Typical British summer. But it has been lovely as The Croft is an excellent home from home – very comfortable, so well equipped and so easy to relax in. Lovely views. First time round these parts – try these 3 'not to be missed' places to visit: Alnwick – the Castle and Barter Books – amazing; Cragside, National Trust- just up the road – ditto and Bamburgh- castle, coast and scenery. Thanks Cathy – much appreciated.

11 - 18 July 2015

Margaret & Clive + dog
West Sussex

Our 2nd visit to the lovely 'Croft'. The weather could have been kinder to us this year but we still had a lovely time and enjoyed the countryside so much. The cottage was, as always, so welcoming and thank you Cathy  for the goodies and your welcome on our arrival. A very special place.

4 - 7 July
2015

Janice & George
+ dogs
West Dunbartonshire

This is our 3rd visit to The Croft and again we have enjoyed our stay. We had a great few days visiting Bamburgh, beaches and Alnmouth, another lovely day spent visiting Keilder Water. The dogs have had a great time too. A special thanks for the welcome pack which was much appreciated. Thanks again for letting us stay at The Croft – we shall be back next year. A home from home.

27 June – 4 July 2015

Dorothy & Colin
London

This is our 4th visit. We have enjoyed beautiful weather. The house, as always. Is perfect. We have had a very restful time- the beds are so comfortable! Would recommend Horton Grange lunch or dinner. As always Cathy and Alan make us very welcome. Thank you.

 

20 - 27 June 2015

Katrine & Chris Yorkshire
Brian & Mary
Somerset

We have had a wonderful week! The house is so comfortable and well equipped and a fantastic position for getting into the village. Some great walks from the house and also on Hadrian's Wall. Lovely views and lovely cat!.

13 - 20 June 2015

John & Diane
Chris & Len
Kent

A very well equipped cottage in a beautiful spot with excellent views. We very much enjoyed our stay and the marvelous welcome tray! Delightful cottage – beautiful 'roomy' rooms. Thank you.

6 - 13 June 2015

Joan & John
North Yorkshire

A very spacious and particularly well equipped property. A very nice welcome pack and, of course, those magnificent views. Thank you

                                                                30 May – 6 June 2015

Meg & Derek
Glos & Berks
Liz & Norman
Norfolk

Thank you so much for such a comfortable place to stay, especially the bed! We will be back.
3rd visit and we love it here even more. We walked the hills, rivers and beaches. As ever we loved the house and sitting on the terrace with our G & T's. Garden looked great. Hope to come again.

23 - 30 May 2015

Marion & Peter
Essex

We have had a wonderful week. The house is so comfortable and well equipped and we have been to so many fascinating places. Would love to come back.

9 - 15 May 2015

Andrea & Peter
Norfolk

A wonderful stay in your house.. Wonderful views, comfortable and warm. Thank you for the warm welcome and treats in the kitchen.

2 - 9 May 2015 

Philip & Catherine
Staffordshire

A lovely return visit. Thank you.

27 April – 1 May
2015

David & Lynda
John & Margaret
Durham

We have thoroughly enjoyed our short stay in your lovely house. Wonderful location and beautiful views from all  rooms. Such a shame none of us can play the piano but we had fun pretending! Weather was a little 'iffy' but we managed to get out and about. Thank you so much for your kind welcome and especially the treats left in the kitchen.

18 - 25 April 2015

Jan & Val
+ dog
Angus Scotland

The Croft has everything you need to enjoy a super relaxing time in this area. We have had a great time visiting castles, houses, beaches, neighbouring towns and villages all enhanced by the sunny weather.

4 - 11 April 2015

Stuart & Louise
John & Sue
+ dog
Suffolk

We have had a super week at The Croft. Thank you for the delicious goodies – jam and Easter treats – very thoughtful and well received. For Stuart and I this was our 3rd visit to Northumberland in a year having fallen in love with the area last April. Our dog loves the beaches at Bamburgh and Alnmouth. Holy Island is a must for every visit – just a magical place. Being here is just so paeceful and we can't wait to return again. Lastly thanks for arranging such amazing weather- 6 days of beautiful sunshine!!

28 March - 4 April
2015

Barry, Sue & Louis
Devon

A lovely home from home. Enjoyed our stay – weather OK – managed to avoid the rain. Thank you for the welcome basket – a very kind thought.

21 - 25 March 2015

Linda & Mark
Berkshire 

Thank you – we have really enjoyed staying in the house and have had a lovely break

14 - 21 March 2015

The Smiths and friends.
Lincolnshire

Thank you for a lovely time in a wonderful house – everything you could want and more. Hope to come again.

7 - 14 March 2015

George & Joan
Durham

Thank you for allowing us to stay in your wonderful home. We really enjoyed the peace and quiet and slower pace of life here in Rothbury. Also thank you for the welcome goodies – enjoyed the marmalade and jam.

21 – 24 Feb
2015

Barry, Sara & Steph
+ dog

Where to start? We have loved every single moment of our short stay in this truly Victorian house in such a beautiful position; sun flooded rooms (and sleet blustering up the valley!) all with such character – ( the window seat and shutters!!) ; the log burner (with thermostat!) ;the grand piano (wow what a treat!!). Great walks for the dog too – river, dale and forests! It has been IDYLLIC. Thanks too for the warm welcome and the basket of goodies. We hope to be back.

14 - 21 Feb 2015

Alison, Neil & Cora May
+dogs
Cheshire

Fantastic cottage in a lovely location, ideal for exploring Northumberland. You made our stay very comfortable, the little welcome treats when we arrived are a lovely touch and the cottage is very well equipped. The log burner kept us lovely and cosy during the night. Hope to visit again, thanks for a lovely week.

7 - 14 Feb 2015

Jane, Fran, John  & Jonathan.
+ dog

Warm, welcoming and well equipped cottage. Brilliant base for walking and exploring. This part of the world is a well kept secret!

 

28 Dec - 4 Jan

Kevin and Lynne
+ dogs

We really enjoyed our stay at The Croft: beautiful place, lovely surroundings, couldn't ask for more. The cottage is great and the local bakers a delight. The walks right on the doorstep are fantastic for us with dogs – no need to travel. Been to the area before and love the coastline – fantastic beaches. Keilder Water is worth a visit, great walks. Thanks for a fantastic week.

20 - 27 December 2014

Tom, Debora  Franca and Dylan

Our first trip to Northumberland and our first family holiday with our 6 month old son. We've enjoyed every minute of our stay at The Croft and have felt very at home here. A perfect setting to spend a cosy and relaxing Christmas Day too. Thanks for the decorations and tree. Enjoyed day trips to Hadrian's  Wall, Alnwick Tree house, Bamburgh, Seahouses, Walkworth and Alnmouth. We hope to come back – we had no idea how many spectacular things are scattered around Northumberland – plenty left to see and do – a week certainly was not long enough.